TV Host and Producer Darley Newman to be Honored at the Inspiring Women Awards

March 8, 2012

Darley Newman, the host, creator, writer and producer of the Emmy-winning PBS TV series "Equitrekking” will be honored among six remarkable women at the Women in Philanthropy and Leadership (WIPL) Inspiring Women Awards on March 20th in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

The Inspiring Women Awards were created as a lasting way to recognize the achievements of women who were born in South Carolina or who have adopted the Palmetto State as their home. The awards pay tribute to outstanding women for their contributions to the state, nation and world. Honorees reflect a diverse group of women from the arts, business, medicine, media, philanthropy and public service.

Newman, who grew up in Myrtle Beach, is an inspirational entrepreneur who has carved out her dream career with her TV show, travel websites and award-winning book and writing. A true adventurer, Newman travels through global destinations with local people to introduce viewers to history, the environment and world cultures, promoting diversity and cross-cultural understanding. She has been honored with three Daytime Emmy nominations for her hosting, writing and producing up against such media moguls as Ellen DeGeneres, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert and grown her TV show to reach audiences throughout North America and in 65 other nations.

"In reviewing the names chosen by the nominations committee, I am confident they have selected a group of women who have demonstrated visionary leadership, determination, success and are a source of great inspiration,” said Terri DeCenzo, executive director for WIPL. “They have made a difference in many lives – not only within our community, but in the world. I look forward to sharing their stories and celebrating their impact."

Newman will also speak on the afternoon of March 20th about how she launched her career and businesses, giving tips to other women on how they too can carve out their niche and create their dream job and life. At the Celebration of Inspiring Women, she will be honored beside Dr. Jeanne Fourrier, dentist, philanthropist, humanitarian; Patricia Harris, global chief diversity officer, McDonald's Corporation LLC; Anne Worsham Richardson, artist, naturalist, lecturer; Brig. Gen. Velma Richardson, U.S. Army retired, business development principal of Information Systems and Global Services; and Inez Tenenbaum, chairman of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.

For more information visit and

News Updates

For media inquiries, please contact us